Gå till huvudinnehållet
Banner Image Högskolan i Borås Bibliotekets ämnesguider Image Map

Textile and Fashion Design

Research journal or not?

Refereed Yes and the symbol that looks like a referees shirt indicates that the journal is peer reviewed:

Bild på symbol för vetenskaplig tidksrift i Ulrichsweb

Journal articles

On this page you will find information about different types of journal articles. You will also find suggestions on databases and other search tools for finding research journal articles and trade journal articles within your subject area.

Different kind of journal articles and how to recognise them

The following characteristics can help you determine if the article you have found is a research journal article or not:

  • The authors are researchers
  • The journal that published the article is a peer review journal. This means that the articles have been reviewed and evaluated by experts before publication to ensure high quality. You can check if a certain journal is peer reviewed in the database Ulrichsweb.
  • Research findings are presented
  • The article is well structured and contains abstract, introduction, method, results and discussion
  • There are many references to previous research
  • The language is academic and advanced

Here you will find some characteristics of daily paper articles:

  • The authors are journalists
  • The articles turn to a general audience
  • They are published in newspapers or in daily papers
  • They are published daily or some days a week 
  • They contain news, interviews, debate and current information about industries or companies
  • The language is informal 

 

 

Here are some characteristics of trade journal articles:

  • The authors are journalists or experts/industry people
  • They are aimed at industry professionals or the public
  • Issued weekly or monthly or other 
  • The articles contain interviews, debate, current information about the industry, information about previous season and expected trends
  • The language is informal

Databases - journal articles

Databases - journal articles from popular and trade journals

Databases - journal articles, interdisciplinary

Databases by topic

Primo - journal articles

Sökbox Primo

Videos on how to search in Primo.

Google Scholar - scholarly sources

Google Scholar is a search engine with a focus on scholarly sources, including research journal articles. Use Google Scholar as a complement to the library's databases.

If you are using Google Scholar on campus, links to fulltexts of the library's resources will appear in your results. To get these links when you are searching off campus, access it via the link above (or via the library's database list) and log in with your student account.

Trade journals

Most of the library's journals are available digitally, but in the field of art and design there are also many in printed form. Here you can find some examples. The printed journals can be found on floor 1 in the library.
Aesthetica is available online.