Ämnesguider: Textile and Fashion Design: Material libraries and material databases, Art and design artefacts

Materials libraries and materials databases

There are a number of materials libraries around the world. They have developed from the needs of industry and education institutions to have collective access to physical materials samples where it is possible to touch and feel the materials, discover new materials, and see collected information about them.

In addition to showrooms visits, the materials libraries often offer different types of services, such as access to their online databases, workshops, exhibitions, and other events. Most materials libraries are commercial and charge for their services, but there are also material libraries at some schools and universities that are free to visit. There are also materials databases freely accessable on the web; you will find links to some of these on this page.

Material Connexion

Material ConneXion - Materials database
Users at the University of Borås have access to the Material Connexion database in which over 10,000 different materials are registered. New materials are added every month. For each material, there are pictures and detailed information about properties and applications, as well as contact information to the manufacturer or supplier.
You can search for the material's name, its unique number (MC number), or material category. In addition, you can filter the search for properties, processing techniques etc.
Material ConneXion - Materials library
Material ConneXion's head office is located in New York, where their largest material library is also located. Materials ConneXion maintains several material libraries around the world, one of them in Skövde. Users at the University of Borås have access to any of Material ConneXion's material libraries, individually or in groups.
For more information, please turn to the contact person here at the university, Monik Nyrén monik.nyren@hb.se.

Materials databases - free resources

Stylepark
An international platform for design and architecture. The database contains information about materials and other products as well as contact information for manufacturers.
Material District
A global network of innovative materials. Free access to their material database with information about more than 3000 materials.
MRL - Material Realisation Laboratory
A material library with a free online database at Linköping University. Materials such as polymers, metals, ceramics and other (stone, cork, etc.). The database interface is in Swedish only. Visits by appointment.

Materials libraries and materials databases - commercial resources

These material libraries offer services in exchange for payment, such as access to showrooms, material databases online, and events.
Access to Materialbiblioteket's permanent showroom is free.

Material ConneXion Skövde and New York among other cities

Materialbiblioteket Stockholm

Innovatheque Paris and Strasbourg

MatèriO Paris among other cities

Materials libraries

Smart Textiles Showroom
This is a material library at Textile Fashion Center. The collection consists, among others, of material samples and textile products developed within the Smart Textiles research projects. Visit by appointment.
MRL - Material Realisation Laboratory
A material library with a free online database at Linköping University. Materials such as polymers, metals, ceramics, and other (stone, cork etc.). The database interface is in Swedish only. Visits by appointment.

Textile and Fashion Design

Material﻿s libraries and materials databases

Material Connexion

Materials databases - free resources

Materials libraries and materials databases - commercial resources

Materials libraries

Materials libraries and materials databases