The database JSTOR contains some extensive image collections. Among them the Artstor collection that provides access to a huge amount of curated images that have been rights cleared for use in education and research. They are free to use in classroom instruction and handouts, presentations, student assignments, and other noncommercial educational and scholarly activities.
In Europeana, you will find images as well as videos, sound recordings and books from a large number of European galleries, museums and archives in both historical and contemporary fashion. Both free and copyrighted material.
Victoria & Albert Museums image collections, contain among others, one category on textiles, costume and fashion. Under "Terms & Conditions", at the website, you will find information on how the images may be used.
VADS (Visual Arts Data Service) is a research centre at the University of Creative Arts in England. VADS makes available an extensive collection of images in art and design (140,000 images) from British museums, libraries and other archives. The images are free to use in education and research.
An award-winning website about patterns and a large archive with pictures of patterns. Much is freely accessible, also parts that you can take part for a fee.
Vogue Archive contains all photographs and other images, including advertisements and covers, from the first pubished issue of American Vogue in 1892 onwards. The high-resolution images are searchable based on motif, designer, garment type, brand and more.
In The Womens Wear Daily Archive you can search for high-resolution images, including advertisements, in the magazine Women's Wear Daily, from the first issue 1910 onwards with a delay of about 12 months.
Patternity. A new way of seeing - the inspirational power of pattern
Patterns av 
The Pattern Base av