Do you have questions about predatory journals or conferences? Contact the library!
Email: signe.wulund@hb.se
Phone: 033-435 4119
The texts in this guide have been written by Pieta Eklund and Signe Wulund.
Below you will find a list of links to various resources that can be used to check journals before choosing to publish in them.
Think.Check.Submit is a website that guides you through the process of choosing a journal to publish in. There are tools and resources that can be used to choose a relevant quality journal.
Linköping University Library has developed a search function where you can check if a journal is predatory or not. To use it you simply need the journal’s ISSN number. You can find ISSN/e-ISSN numbers on the journal’s website or through Ulrichsweb.
Sökresultatet visar bland annat:
Please note that it doesn’t mean a journal isn’t reputable if it isn’t listed in PubMed – it is simply an indication that it doesn’t fall within the scope of journals indexed. Lacking an impact factor isn’t anything strange either. But the journal doesn’t show up in any of the databases above that makes it dubious. Compare the search results for Information Research (legitimate) and Bioinformation (predatory).
DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) is a database that lists open access journals. DOAJ does a quality control before including, but some predatory journals can still make it into the database, so do exercise due diligence.
Journal Citation Reports is a database owned by Clarivate Analytics. It tracks citations and calculates the Journal Impact Factor for those journals it indexes.
Note: If you aren’t affiliated with the University of Borås you need to contact your own university library for access to this database.
The Norwegian List is a registry over academic publication channels: journals, series and publishers. There is a number of requirements for inclusion in the list. In Norway it is used to distribute research funding.
This is a database of journal information, including where a journal is indexed, what field it is in, how many issues it publishes a year and much more.
Note: If you aren’t affiliated with the University of Borås you need to contact your own university library for access to this database.
Google maps can be a resource when you are judging the quality of a journal. By using Street View you can have a look at what the address where the publisher claims to be based is. Does the area look like you could run a company from it? Sometimes journal addresses show up as empty lots or apartment buildings, which is a good reason to proceed with caution.
